Hello, everyo…

Image

 

Hello, everyone! I have survived my first year at Sarah Lawrence college, and am now happily back home in Vermont. I have a few posts currently in the making, and they should be up soon! I’ll also be doing some sort of fan report of Berryz Koubou’s performance at AnimeNext. I just found out that I could go, so my plans are rather last minute, but just seeing the girls again will be so much fun! I hope to see some of you there.

In terms of this blog, I’d like to make a few (admittedly small) changes. First off: While reading through some old posts, I was shocked by the amount of vitriol in some of my posts. True, some of it was joking and funny, but I regret using words like “hate” so often. I don’t hate anyone in H!P, nor do I blame any girl for receiving disproprtionate amounts of screentime/solo lines/promotion. Do I still prefer some girls over others? You bet. Do I still find it disheartening to see the effort of some girls not pay off in terms of promotion? Of course. But I’m going to make it clear- in no way do I think the girls have control over such things. Idols should not be penalized for the decisions of their agencies.

In some ways, my enjoyment of Idols has changed. While I’m by no means a DD, I find it much easier to enjoy concerts and such now because I am so excited about every group. Even though I still have some clear favorites, I appreciate the things that make each idol special, whether it’s Risako’s ubiquitous pout, or Zukki’s… interesting hairstyles. It’s a lot more fun this way, and I think that’ll show through in my blog posts.

I’ve also been having some major nostalgia for classic H!P moments- old Utaban and HaroMoni episodes. Ayaka’s Surprise English Lessons (that perennial classic), and old Ayaya performances are all I want to watch right now.

…and when I’m not doing that, I’m busy falling in love with all of the new Idols that’ve joined H!P over the past year and a half! The 9th gen, 10th gen, and new S/mileage members all joining at once have given Hello! Project an injection of youth and fun that I hadn’t even realized was missing. I can’t wait to watch these new girls grow- and blog about them as they do.

Since this is something of an unofficial new start for this blog, is there anything you would be interested in reading about? Some of my favorite blogs do regular theme posts on certain weekdays, and I’ve been thinking of doing something like that at least once a week. Leave a comment to tell me what you think! (Or don’t- it’s okay, bloggers have natural telepathy, you know.)

Leave a Reply

