Rankings! Morning Musume

The poll going on over at Hello! Blog has given me the perfect excuse to do member rankings for each of the Big Three! Mua ha ha. I’ll start with Morning Musume.momusu-ranking.jpg

1st: The wonderful Turtely Musume! Kamei caught my eye almost entirely because of her Maple photobook. I’d liked her before that, too, but on seeing that she was actually seriously gorgeous, I decided to pay more attention to Kamei. What I saw was a sweet girl who was funny in such a gentle, unassuming manner that I immediately felt like I could easily talk to her. I also love her voice; some people may find it a bit odd sounding, but she has the most amazing range! Everyone cites “Haru Beautiful Everyday” as an example of her brilliant range, and, well, I agree. If you haven’t heard that song, from the Sexy 8 Beat album, it should be listened to. As soon as possible.

2nd: Next comes Li Chun! I liked her the best out of the two Chinese members, and I just get this… good feeling about her. Her responses to the cruel remarks in her blog really impressed me and what I can hear of her voice does not disappoint. Plus, and I will be entirely shallow here: She has an amazing body. Unlike some other members (Reina) she has a shape to her, and is not stick skinny. It’s a nice change of pace to see someone with a a somewhat more “normal” body type in an Idol group.

3rd: It really was hard for me to pick Junjun over Mittsi. I mean, Aika is just about the cutest creature to be born on this earth in the last few decades or so! Plus, she was the first member of Morning Musume that I could watch grow and change in real time. Her voice… can either be quite nice (Dekiru Onna) or kinda… odd. But I like it. I think her new short haircut suits her very well!

4th: Gaki. Gaki Gaki Gaki! I love Gaki. Her voice, her smile, the huge way in which she’s developed and changed over the years, everything. I feel like her voice is a clearer version of Takahashi Ai’s, and it doesn’t seem to go all deep when she’s exhausted. She always sounds great when she gets lines in singles, albums songs and the like, and so I’d love it if Gaki became a lead singer. Actually, she reminds me a bit of fellow 5th gen member Ogawa Makoto. They’re both very strong vocally, but they seem to fall back on the safe “genki/cute” personality that doesn’t help them to stand out much.

5th: My opinion has changed so much about Sayumi. Seriously, I could not stand this girl. Now? I think she’s too cute for words. I even kind of like her voice. But the best thing about her is her “secret” sexy side (that’s like a tongue twister). It’s this little hidden facet to her personality that I like.

6th: Takitty I like, but I do not love her. She’s very pretty and has a nice voice, but I feel that there’s something missing from her. I don’t know if what everyone says about her personality is true (IE, that she’s lacking one), but… it’s not like she’s Yossy, where you watch one little clip of her and know, immediately, what her character is like. I want to know more about Takahashi.

7th: The one whose face reminds me of a fox! I can’t say too much about Linlin. She kind of got this ranking because she’s not Kusumi or Tanaka. Sorry! But I did like her in that newcomers’ concert from a while ago. She sounded quite good in Special Generation! And there’s this one odd Linlin moment that I like: At the end of the 8th gen+ Kusumi performance of Furusato when Linlin says “Domo arigatou gozaimashita!, the way she says it is so weird that I can’t help loving it.

8th: I don’t hate Kusumi. I used to. I no longer do, and that is simply because she can be very, very entertaining. Actually, at first I adored Kusumi. This was back when Berryz was the only reason I knew of h!p. I was searching for videos of Yurina, and came up with the Yurina/Kusumi/Ogawa version of “Pittari Shitai Christmas” (on looking back, could they have made it any more obvious that Kusumi was to be the new Goto?). I really liked Kusumi in that video, and then I found her (then only two) solo singles and loved her. That later turned into dislike when she started being shoved in our faces all of the time even though she really can’t sing. But now that’s mellowed out, and I don’t mind her.

9th: Ohhhh dear. So, Tanaka is my least favorite member. She’s the only member I dislike, actually (it’s like this with all of the big three. The only member I dislike is the one I put last; all the others are at least okay). I would even go so far as to say she’s my least favorite member in all of H!P. And what really bothers me is I can’t seem to figure out a good reason why, other than that she gives off an air of fake-ness. Please don’t kill me, fans of Reina. But that’s what I feel from her. Out of all of Morning Musume, past and present, she is the only one to remind me of kids at my school, always posturing and all that. Although, like Kusumi, I used to like Reina. I liked her in Aa!. But unlike Kusumi, once I started to dislike her, my opinion didn’t mellow out with time.

Leaving off on that positive note, I thank you for reading. I shall rank Berryz next, and C-ute last.

4 Responses to Rankings! Morning Musume

  1. […] (True Life Seek) [ranking] Hello!Blog’s H!P Poll Results – johpan edition (boylikesmusic) Rankings! Morning Musume (Aoi♥Usagi) Hello! Project rankings, and a few scattered thoughts. (Egao YES […]

  2. amyrulez says:

    where did you get that nice picture of the Musumes? Cute…

  3. peachyusagi says:

    It’s a quiz on the hello! blog site. After taking the quiz, the image of your ranking is e-mailed to you!

    http://helloblog.co.uk/

  4. […] (Last Year’s Thoughts:) […]

Leave a Reply

